## ORDINANCE NO. 2020-02

## An Ordinance Changing the Composition of the Plan Commission to Allow One Non-Resident as a Voting Member

The Common Council of the City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, hereby ordains as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 2-4-5 of the Municipal Code of the City of Cedarburg is hereby amended as follows:

## SEC. 2-4-5 CITY PLAN COMMISSION. (Ord. 2012-07)

- (a) Composition. The Plan Commission shall consist of seven (7) voting members as follows: The Mayor, one (1) Council Member, and five (5) <u>citizen members. Four (4)</u> <u>community members must be residents of the City of Cedarburg. One (1) member may be a non-resident of the City of Cedarburg.</u>
- (b) Appointment.
  - (1) <u>Election/Appointment of Council Members</u>. At its annual meeting in April of each year the Common Council shall, by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of its members, elect one (1) of its members as a member of the City Plan Commission for a period of one (1) year from and after the first day of May next ensuing.
  - (2) <u>Appointment and Terms of Citizen Members</u>. The five (5) citizen members shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council to hold office for a period ending respectively one (1), two (2) and three (3) years thereafter from the succeeding first of May. Annually during April, members shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years.

Michael O'Keefe, Mayor

Countersigned:

Tracie Sette, City Clerk

Approved as to form:

Michael Herbrand, City Attorney