POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSION OCTOBER 17, 2022

A special meeting of the Police and Fire Commission, City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Monday, October 17, at 5:30 p.m., at the Cedarburg Police Department, at W75 N444 Wauwatosa Road, in the Community Room.

CALL TO ORDER – President Joel Dhein called the special meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL – Present: Jim Salp, Joel Dhein, Terry Zimmermann, Stacy Tolomeo, Chris

Hackbarth

Also Present: Police Chief Michael McNerney

Captain Ryan Fitting Captain Joe Kell

STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

President Dhein acknowledged the agenda for this meeting was posted and distributed in compliance with Wisconsin Open Records Law.

NEW BUSINESS

Discuss Background Investigation Process; and Action Thereon

Police Captain Ryan Fitting discussed adding three (3) portions to the background process for police applicants. They included a standard applicant preliminary interview form, a "Pop In Interview" format and also a PEP Test, which checks for possible deception.

Motion was made by President Dhein, and seconded by Terry Zimmermann, to approve the standard applicant preliminary interview form and the "Pop In Interview" format for new backgrounds investigations. The PEP Test was not included. Motion carried without a negative vote.

ADJOURNMENT – CLOSED SESSION

Motion made by Chris Hackbarth, seconded by Jim Salp, to adjourn to closed session at 5:43 p.m. pursuant to Wis. Stat. 19.85(1) to consider employment of any public employee which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically, interviewing and discussing police patrol officer candidates. Approval of closed session minutes of July 14 and July 29, 2022. Motion carried without a negative vote.

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Motion made by Chris Hackbarth, seconded by Stacy Tolomeo, to reconvene to open session at 9:09 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Terry Zimmermann, seconded by Stacy Tolomeo, to adjourn the meeting at 9:10 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote.

Chris Hackbarth Secretary