### POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSION July 9, 2020

PFC20200709-1 UNAPPROVED

A regular meeting of the Police and Fire Commission, City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. at the Cedarburg Police Department, W75 N444 Wauwatosa Road, Cedarburg, Wisconsin, in the Community Room.

The meeting was called to order by President Robert Carroll at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call: Present - Robert Carroll, Joel Dhein, Jim Salp, Linda Krieg, Steve

Weber

Also Present – Police Chief Thomas J. Frank, Fire Chief Jeff Vahsholtz,

Captain McNerney

### STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

Robert Carroll acknowledged the agenda for this meeting was posted and distributed in compliance with Wisconsin Open Meetings Law.

# ELECTION OF PRESIDENT, VICE-PRESIDENT, AND SECRETARY; AND ACTION THEREON

Motion made by Jim Salp, seconded by Linda Krieg, to keep the current officers in place. Robert Carroll will remain President, Joel Dhein will remain Vice-President, and Linda Krieg will remain Secretary. Motion carried without negative vote.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Jim Salp, seconded by Joel Dhein, to approve the May 14, 2020 minutes. Motion carried without negative vote.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

## <u>Consider Application for Membership in the Cedarburg Fire Department for New Member Ed Lanser for Active Fire/EMS; and Action Thereon</u>

Motion made by Jim Salp, seconded by Steve Weber, to accept Ed Lanser for Active Fire/EMS to the Cedarburg Fire Department. Motion carried without negative vote.

# <u>Consider Application for Membership in the Cedarburg Fire Department for New Member Curtis Hanaman for Active Fire; and Action Thereon</u>

Motion made by Jim Salp, seconded by Steve Weber, to accept Curtis Hanaman for Active Fire to the Cedarburg Fire Department. Motion carried without negative vote.

## Consider Application for Membership in the Cedarburg Fire Department for New Members Lauren Janous and Jordan Abts for Active EMS; and Action Thereon

Motion made by Steve Weber, seconded by Jim Salp, to accept Lauren Janous for Active EMS in the Cedarburg Fire Department. Motion carried without negative vote.

Motion made by Steve Weber, seconded by Jim Salp, to accept Jordan Abts for Active EMS in the Cedarburg Fire Department. Motion carried without negative vote.

### Review and Certify Code of Ethics; and Action Thereon

Motion made by Jim Salp, seconded by Steve Weber, that the Police & Fire Commission reviewed and certified the Code of Ethics. Motion carried without negative vote.

### REPORT OF POLICE CHIEF AND FIRE CHIEF

### **Update on Police Department projects**

Chief Frank advised the Commission that the Cedarburg Police Department has been accredited for the last 12 years meeting the 324 standards of best practices across the United States.

The Police Department had two separate meetings with black citizens in Cedarburg. The Mayor and several officers attended the meetings. They talked about topics of concern and agreed to meet again in the future. The Chief has had discussions with Erika Turner who started "Bridge the Divide" and they talked about how to make Cedarburg more inviting. The Department has discussed more diversity training. The Chief reached out to Concordia Professor Dr. Ken Harris who is putting together bias training that will be made available to the Department.

### **Update on Fire Department Projects**

Fire Chief Vahsholtz advised the Department is busy but there are no specific updates.

Confirm Next Meeting (September 10, 2020) and Agenda Items; and Action Thereon

Chief Frank confirmed the next meeting will be held on September 10, 2020.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion made by Jim Salp, seconded by Joel Dhein, to adjourn the meeting at 8:22 p.m. Motion carried without negative vote.

Linda Krieg Secretary

adk