## LIBRARY BOARD May 25, 2022

LIB20220525-1 UNAPPROVED

A regular meeting of the Library Board, City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held Wednesday, May 25, 2022, at the Cedarburg Public Library, W63 N589 Hanover Avenue, Community Room.

The meeting was called to order by President DeWayna Cherrington at 6:30 p.m.

Roll Call: Present - DeWayna Cherrington, Council Member Robert Simpson, Meghan Wielebski, Joycelyn Russo, Michael Maher, Lorraine LeSage, Kassandra Bartelme

Also Present - Library Director Linda Pierschalla, Monarch Library System Director Riti Grover

# STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

President DeWayna Cherrington acknowledged that the agenda for this meeting was distributed and posted in compliance with the Wisconsin Open Meetings law.

# ELECTION OF PRESIDENT, VICE-PRESIDENT AND SECRETARY; AND ACTION THEREON

The following slate of officers was presented with no other nominations: President – DeWayna Cherrington Vice-President – Joycelyn Russo Secretary – Meghan Wielebski

Motion made by Kassandra Bartelme, seconded by Michael Maher, to approve DeWayna Cherrington as President, Joycelyn Russo as Vice-President, and Meghan Wielebski as Secretary. Motion carried without a negative vote.

# COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM CITIZENS - None

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The April 20, 2022 Library Board minutes were not available and will be considered for approval at the June meeting.

### APPROVAL OF BILLS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Director Pierschalla explained the current financials and bills from the past month.

- Windows cleaned
- Expenses for books and office supplies

DeWayna Cherrington asked if the film will be put onto the windows, as mentioned in a previous meeting. Director Pierschalla explained that the prices will need to be reviewed, as they have increased, and it will be done closer to summer.

# LIBRARY BOARD May 25, 2022

Due to revenue for 2021 being \$17,060 more than budgeted and expenses coming in at \$27,479 less, caused from staff turnover and holding off on equipment purchasing, the available balance remaining for 2021 is \$74,789 which is applied to the Library Fund balance.

Motion made by Joycelyn Russo, seconded by Meghan Wielebski, to approve the bills and financial statements for May. Motion carried without a negative vote.

## **REPORTS**

### Director's Report – Library Director Linda Pierschalla

Community & Adult Services Librarian Deb Bauer has retired. Director Pierschalla received 38 applicants for the position and is interviewing candidates. The Library is advertising for a new custodian to work 19 hours per week.

A brochure that was funded by the Friends of the Library will be mailed to the community in June.

Director Pierschalla will present the Annual Library Report to the Common Council at the June 13 meeting.

The new Friends of the Library Co-Presidents are Heidi May and Jean O'Keefe.

The grant from the Southeast Wisconsin Continuing Education Group increased the award from \$500 to \$1500 for Director Pierschalla to use toward the conference in Portland, Oregon.

#### <u>School Report</u> – Lorraine LeSage

Lorraine LeSage reported on the new software features of AccessIt. Libraries are still 6:1 for the next school year. School Superintendent Clark will begin his new position on July 1. He will need to decide if he would like Lorraine LeSage to continue to be the School Representative on the Library Board or if he would like to take the role himself.

# NEW BUSINESS

# **Review and Certify Code of Ethics; and Action Thereon**

Motion made by Meghan Wielebski, seconded by Kassandra Bartelme, for review and certification of the Code of Ethics. Motion carried without a negative vote.

#### Monarch Library System Director Riti Grover Introduction and Overview of Monarch System

Monarch Library System Director Riti Grover gave a presentation on enhancing the efficiency and the tools from the Monarch System to give the best continued education and resources for the Community.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion made by Michael Maher, seconded by Joycelyn Russo, to adjourn the meeting at 7:43 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote.

Meghan Wielebski Secretary

adk