CC20191014-1 UNAPPROVED

CITY OF CEDARBURG COMMON COUNCIL LIGHT & WATER COMMISSION October 14, 2019

A special joint meeting of the Common Council and Light & Water Commission of the City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Monday, October 14, 2019, at City Hall, W63 N645 Washington Avenue, second floor, Council Chambers. Mayor O'Keefe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Roll Call: Present - <u>Common Council</u> - Mayor Michael O'Keefe, Council Members Sherry

Bublitz, Jack Arnett, Kristin Burkart, Rick Verhaalen, Patricia Thome,

Rod Galbraith

Excused - Council Member Garan Chivinski

Present - Light & Water Commission - Blaine Hilgendorf, Tim Larson, David

Pagel, Joseph Dorr

Excused - James Coutts, Andrew Moss

Also Present - City Administrator/Treasurer Christy Mertes, City Attorney Michael

Herbrand, Light & Water General Manager Dale Lythjohan, Deputy City Clerk Amy Kletzien, Lawrie Kobza of Boardman & Clark LLP

(speakerphone)

STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

At Mayor O'Keefe's request, Deputy City Clerk Kletzien verified that notice of this meeting was provided to the public by forwarding the agenda to the City's official newspaper, the *News Graphic*, to all news media and citizens who requested copies, and by posting in accordance with the Wisconsin Open Meetings Law.

<u>ADJOURNMENT – CLOSED SESSION</u>

Motion made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Galbraith, to adjourn to closed session at 6:31 p.m. pursuant to State Statute 19.85(1)(g) to confer with legal counsel for the Common Council and Light & Water Commission who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved, more specifically, to discuss the Prochnow Landfill. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote with Council Members Bublitz, Arnett, Burkart, Verhaalen, Thome and Galbraith voting aye; Light & Water Commissioners Hilgendorf, Larson, Pagel and Dorr voting aye; Commissioners Coutts and Moss excused; and Council Member Chivinski excused.

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Motion made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Bublitz, to reconvene to open session at 7:00 p.m. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote with Council Members Bublitz, Arnett, Burkart, Verhaalen, Thome and Galbraith voting aye; Light & Water Commissioners Hilgendorf, Larson, Pagel and Dorr voting aye; Commissioners Coutts and Moss excused; and Council Member Chivinski excused.

COMMON COUNCIL LIGHT & WATER COMMISSION October 14, 2019

CC20191014-2 UNAPPROVED

ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Council Member Arnett, seconded by Council Member Bublitz, to adjourn the meeting at 7:01 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Chivinski and Commissioners Coutts and Moss excused.

Amy D. Kletzien, MMC/WCPC Deputy City Clerk