CITY OF CEDARBURG COMMON COUNCIL APRIL 16, 2024

An organizational meeting of the Common Council of the City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Tuesday, April 16, 2024, at City Hall, W63 N645 Washington Avenue, second floor, Council Chambers, and online utilizing the Zoom app.

Mayor Michael O'Keefe called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. A moment of silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Roll Call: Present - Council Members Jim Fitzpatrick, Kristin Burkart, Incoming Mayor

Patricia Thome, Kevin Curley, Mark Mueller, Robert Simpson

Excused - Council Member Melissa Bitter

Also Present - City Administrator Mikko Hilvo, Attorney Michael Herbrand (arrived

7:20 p.m.), City Clerk Tracie Sette, Police Chief Michael McNerney,

interested citizens and news media.

STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

At Mayor O'Keefe's request, City Clerk Sette verified that notice of this meeting was provided to the public by forwarding the agenda to the City's official newspaper, the *News Graphic*, to all news media and citizens who requested copies, and by posting in accordance with the Wisconsin Open Meetings Law. Citizens present were welcomed and encouraged to provide their input during the citizen comment portion of the meeting.

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM CITIZENS - None

OATHS OF OFFICE

City Clerk Sette administered the Mayoral oath of office to incoming Mayor Patricia Thome. Afterward, the oaths of office were administered to Council Members Kristin Burkart (3rd Aldermanic District), Robert Simpson (5th Aldermanic District) and Mark Mueller (7th Aldermanic District). Mayor Thome assumed her place as Mayor presiding over the Council. The District 6 seat became vacant.

NEW BUSINESS

<u>DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON RESOLUTION NO. 2024-04 HONORING</u> MAYOR O'KEEFE FOR HIS YEARS OF SERVICE TO THE CITY OF CEDARBURG

The Council read Resolution No. 2024-04 honoring Mayor O'Keefe for his years of service. Incoming Mayor Thome presented outgoing Mayor O'Keefe with a plaque containing the signed Resolution. Each

Council Member thanked Mayor O'Keefe for his years of service and remarked it was a pleasure working with him over the years.

A motion was made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Simpson, to approve Resolution No. 2024-04 honoring Mayor O'Keefe for his years of service to the City of Cedarburg. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Bitter excused and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL PRESIDENT

A motion was made by Council Member Fitzpatrick, seconded by Council Member Mueller, to nominate Council Member Burkart as Council President. Council Member Burkart accepted the nomination and became Council President on a roll call vote with Council Members Fitzpatrick, Burkart, Curley, Simpson and Mueller voting aye, Council Member Bitter excused, and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL MEMBER TO PLAN COMMISSION

A motion was made by Council Member Simpson, seconded by Council Member Curley, to nominate Council Member Fitzpatrick as Common Council Representative to the Plan Commission. Council Member Fitzpatrick accepted the nomination and became Plan Commission Representative on a roll call vote with Council Members Fitzpatrick, Burkart, Curley, Simpson and Mueller voting aye, Council Member Bitter excused, and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

<u>DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON PURCHASE OF SAFETY EQUIPMENT FOR SPECIAL EVENTS</u>

Chief McNerney explained the request to purchase safety equipment for Police Department personnel to utilize during special events. The new equipment will be lighter to carry and easier for Officers to manage.

After a discussion, a motion was made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Mueller to approve the request to purchase Safety Equipment for special events, not to exceed \$11,500. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Bitter excused and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

<u>DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON LEGAL SERVICES AGREEMENT WITH CITY</u> ATTORNEY MICHAEL HERBRAND

Administrator Hilvo explained that Attorney Herbrand has been the City Attorney since 2014 and continues to provide exceptional legal services to the City.

A motion was made by Council Member Fitzpatrick, seconded by Council member Burkart, to approve the Legal Services Agreement with City Attorney Michael Herbrand. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Bitter excused, and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

<u>DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON MAYORAL APPOINTMENT OF JON SCHOLZ</u> AND SHERRY BUBLITZ TO THE PLAN COMMISSION

Mayor Thome highlighted the credentials of Jon Scholz and Sherry Bublitz and how they will be an asset to the Plan Commission.

A motion was made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Simpson, to approve the Mayoral appointments of Jon Scholz and Sherry Bublitz to the Plan Commission. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Bitter excused and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

<u>DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON DESIGNATION OF CITY'S OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER FOR ENSUING YEAR</u>

A motion was made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Fitzpatrick, to designate the News Graphic as the City's Official Newspaper for the ensuing year. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Bitter excused and the District 6 Council seat vacant.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

Administrator Hilvo thanked outgoing Mayor O'Keefe for his years of service, congratulated Mayor Thome on her election to Mayor, and wished Clerk Sette a happy birthday.

COMMENTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS BY COUNCIL MEMBERS - None

MAYOR'S REPORT - None

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Council Member Mueller, seconded by Council Member Burkart, to adjourn the meeting at 7:29 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Member Bitter excused and District 6 Council seat vacant.

Tracie Sette City Clerk