CITY OF CEDARBURG COMMON COUNCIL DECEMBER 1, 2023

A special meeting of the Common Council of the City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Friday, December 1, 2023, online utilizing the Zoom app.

Mayor Michael O'Keefe called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. A moment of silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Roll Call: Present - Mayor Michael O'Keefe, Council Members Jim Fitzpatrick, Kristin

Burkart, Patricia Thome, Kevin Curley, Melissa Bitter

Excused - Council Members Mark Mueller, Robert Simpson

Also Present - City Administrator Mikko Hilvo, Attorney Michael Herbrand, City

Clerk Tracie Sette, Light & Water General Manager Ben Collins,

and Water Superintendent Tim Martin

STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

At Mayor O'Keefe's request, City Clerk Sette verified that notice of this meeting was provided to the public by forwarding the agenda to the City's official newspaper, the *News Graphic*, to all news media and citizens who requested copies, and by posting in accordance with the Wisconsin Open Meetings Law. Citizens present were welcomed and encouraged to provide their input during the citizen comment portion of the meeting.

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM CITIZENS - None

NEW BUSINESS

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION TO OPT OUT OF PFAS CLASS ACTION LITIGATION SETTLEMENTS WITH E.I. DUPONT DE NEMOURS & COMPANY AND 3M COMPANY

Light and Water General Manager Collins explained the recommendation for the City to opt out of the PFAS Class Action litigation. Opting out of the current Class Action allows the City to pursue any further legal action in the future, after the current case is settled.

The City has been testing for PFAS since 2001 and there has been no detection.

A motion was made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Fitzpatrick, to opt out of the PFAS class action litigation settlement with E.I. Du Pont de Nemours and 3M Company and to authorize Administrator Hilvo and General Manager Collings to file the necessary paperwork. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Members Mueller and Simpson excused.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Thome, to adjourn the meeting at 4:11 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote with Council Members Mueller and Simpson excused.

Tracie Sette City Clerk