An organizational meeting of the Common Council of the City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Tuesday, April 17, 2018, at City Hall, W63 N645 Washington Avenue, second floor, Council Chambers. Mayor O'Keefe called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL: Present - Common Council - Mayor Mike O'Keefe, Council Members Dan

von Bargen, Jack Arnett, Kristin Burkart, Rick Verhaalen, Garan

Chivinski, Patricia Thome, Rod Galbraith

Also Present - City Administrator/Treasurer Christy Mertes, City Clerk Constance

McHugh, Director of Engineering and Public Works Tom Wiza, Police Chief Tom Frank, Fire Chief Jeff Vahsholtz, City Assessor Cathy Timm, Building Inspector Mike Baier, Public Works Superintendent Joel Bublitz, Water Recycling Center Superintendent Eric Hackert, City Forester Kevin Westphal, City Attorney Michael Herbrand (arrived 8:40 p.m.), former Mayor Kip Kinzel, former District 3 Council Member Dick Dieffenbach, Rick Bayer, Pallin Allen, and Andrew Taylor from CVMIC; interested citizens and news

media

STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

At Mayor O'Keefe's request, City Clerk McHugh verified that notice of this meeting was provided to the public by forwarding the agenda to the City's official newspaper, the *News Graphic*, to all news media and citizens who requested copies, and by posting in accordance with the Wisconsin Open Meetings law. Citizens present were welcomed and encouraged to provide their input during the citizen comment portion of the meeting.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Burkart, to approve the minutes from the April 9, 2018 meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

OATHS OF OFFICE

City Clerk McHugh administered the oaths of office to Mayor Mike O'Keefe, Council Members Dan von Bargen (1st Aldermanic District), Kristin Burkart (3rd Aldermanic District), Garan Chivinski (5th Aldermanic District) and Rod Galbraith (7th Aldermanic District).

ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Council Member Burkart nominated Council Member Thome as Council President. The nomination was seconded by Council Member Arnett.

With Council Members von Bargen, Arnett, Burkart, Verhaalen, Chivinski, Thome and Galbraith voting for Council Member Thome, Council Member Thome was elected as Council President.

ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE TO PLAN COMMISSION

Council Member Arnett nominated Council Member Thome as Council Representative to the Plan Commission. The nomination was seconded by Council Member von Bargen.

With Council Members von Bargen, Arnett, Burkart, Verhaalen, Chivinski, Thome, and Galbraith voting for Council Member Thome, Council Member Thome was elected as the Common Council Representative to the Plan Commission.

INTRODUCTION OF DEPARTMENT HEADS/CITY STAFF

The Mayor and individual Council Members introduced themselves to department heads, staff, and members of the audience. Department heads and City staff introduced themselves to the Council.

CONSIDER RESOLUTION NO. 2018-08 RECOGNIZING FORMER MAYOR KIP KINZEL

Motion made by Council Member Arnett, seconded by Council Member Thome, to adopt Resolution No. 2018-08 recognizing former Mayor Kip Kinzel for his years of the service. Motion carried unanimously.

Former Mayor Kinzel thanked staff and the Council for the support over the last six years and wished the new Council the best in the future. He encouraged the Council to take advantage of the talents and knowledge of staff.

CONSIDER RESOLUTION NO. 2018-09 RECOGNIZING FORMER COUNCIL MEMBER JOHN CZARNECKI

Motion made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Verhaalen, to adopt Resolution No. 2018-09 recognizing former Council Member John Czarnecki for his years of service. Motion carried unanimously.

CONSIDER RESOLUTION NO. 2018-10 RECOGNIZING FORMER COUNCIL MEMBER DICK DIEFFENBACH

Motion made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Arnett, to adopt resolution No. 2018-10 recognizing former Council Member Dick Dieffenbach for his years of service. Motion carried unanimously.

Former Council Member Dieffenbach thanked everyone for the assistance and support provided while he was on the Council.

Council Member Arnett thanked former Mayor Kinzel and former Council Members Czarnecki and Dieffenbach for their service prior to being an elected official, service as an elected official, and future service to the community.

PRESENTATION BY CVMIC – INSURANCE SERVICES

Pallin Allen, Manager of Member Services and Risk Management from Cities and Villages Mutual Insurance Company (CVMIC), provided an overview of who CVMIC is and the insurance services provided and training opportunities available.

Rick Bayer, Director of Loss Control, discussed anti-harassment with the Council.

ORIENTATION SESSION FOR MAYOR AND COUNCIL MEMBERS

City Administrator/Treasurer Mertes, City Clerk McHugh, and City Attorney Herbrand provided an orientation session for the Mayor and Council Members. Topics discussed included open meetings and public records laws, the City Ethics policy, the City policy on contacting the City Attorney, public comments at meetings, and closed sessions. All members where provided with the Handbook for Municipal Officials prepared by the League of Municipalities and will be provided with a packet of articles and information.

CONSIDER RESOLUTION NO. 2018-11 DESIGNATING AND AUTHORIZING SIGNATURES FOR THE CITY OF CEDARBURG CHECKING AND SAVINGS ACCOUNTS FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Motion made by Council Member Verhaalen, seconded by Council Member Thome, to adopt Resolution No. 2018-11 designating and authorizing signatures for the City checking and savings accounts for the ensuing year. Motion carried unanimously.

DESIGNATION OF CITY'S OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

Motion made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member von Bargen, to designate the *News Graphic* as the official newspaper for the ensuing year. Motion carried unaimously.

CONSIDER LICENSE APPLICATIONS

Motion made by Council Member Arnett, seconded by Council Member Thome, to approve new operator's licenses for the period ending June 30, 2018 to Andrew J. Kirk and Angela M. Melotik. Motion carried unanimously

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM CITIZENS

Kit Keller, W62 N799 Sheboygan Road, thanked the Police Department, who assisted a neighbor who had fallen on the sidewalk during the recent snow storm.

COMMENTS & ANNOUNCEMENTS BY COUNCIL MEMBERS

Council Member Thome said next year all new Council Members will receive an invitation to the Fire Department Awards banquet. She said this is a very nice event and encouraged everyone to attend. She commended the members and their families for countless hours of service.

Council Member Arnett said ChandlerThinks, the branding firm, presented preliminary data to the branding group last week. The firm is tentatively to return to the City on May 21 at 6:00 p.m. with more information. The Council is invited to attend.

Council Member Arnett asked that any ideas regarding beautification of the City be provided to him. He will share those ideas with the Economic Development Board.

Council Member Arnett said Parkview students will be given a tour of City Hall on April 25.

MAYOR'S REPORT

Mayor O'Keefe said on April 28 at noon there will be a tree planting at Westlawn Woods.

Mayor O'Keefe issued a Poppy Day proclamation

ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Galbraith, to adjourn the meeting at 9:06 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote.

Constance K. McHugh, MMC/WCPC City Clerk