CITY OF CEDARBURG COMMON COUNCIL MAY 23, 2022

A special meeting of the Common Council of the City of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, was held on Monday, May 23, 2022, at City Hall, W63 N645 Washington Avenue, second floor, Council Chambers, and online utilizing the Zoom app.

Mayor Michael O'Keefe called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call: Present - Council Members Jack Arnett, Sherry Bublitz, Kristin Burkart,

Rick Verhaalen, Patricia Thome, Robert Simpson, Angus Forbes

Also Present - City Administrator Mikko Hilvo, Attorney Michael Herbrand,

City Clerk Tracie Sette, Water Recycling Superintendent Dennis Grulkowski, Engineering & Public Works Director Mike Wieser,

news media and interested citizens.

STATEMENT OF PUBLIC NOTICE

At Mayor O'Keefe's request, City Clerk Sette verified that notice of this meeting was provided to the public by forwarding the agenda to the City's official newspaper, the *News Graphic*, to all news media and citizens who requested copies, and by posting in accordance with the Wisconsin Open Meetings Law. Citizens present were welcomed and encouraged to provide their input during the citizen comment portion of the meeting.

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM CITIZENS - None

NEW BUSINESS

<u>DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON AMENDMENT TO THE DEVELOPER'S AGREEMENT FOR PHASE 2 OF THE FAIRWAY VILLAGE SUBDIVISION</u>

Engineering and Public Works Director Mike Wieser explained Neumann Development is moving forward with Phase 2 of Fairway Village. Phase 2 consists of (7) townhome units and (31) single family lots for a total of (113) units in the entire development. In order for the work to begin on Phase 2, the City must amend the original Developer's Agreement. The amendment addresses the following items:

- Requires the Developer to extend sanitary sewer along Washington Avenue to the north property line
- Requires the Developer to pay for and install two fully improved intersections with Washington Avenue
- Updates the Schedule of Values for Financial Guarantee
- Updates the Completion Schedule
- Updates the oversizing costs Light and Water will provide the Developer for installation of the water main

A motion was made by Council Member Verhaalen, seconded by Council Member Arnett, to approve the amendment to the Developer's Agreement for Phase 2 of the Fairway Village Subdivision. Motion carried without a negative vote.

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON RESOLUTION NO. 2022-16 APPROVING THE 2021 COMPLIANCE MAINTENANCE ANNUAL REPORT (CMAR) FOR CEDARBURG WATER RECYCLING CENTER

The Compliance Maintenance Annual Report (CMAR) is a Department of Natural Resources (DNR) summary report used to determine the effectiveness of the sewerage system to meet DNR permit limits. It is also used as an indicator for areas of the system that may need improvement. In 2021, there were no points deducted from any categories in the report. No action for improvement in the system is needed.

Water Recycling Superintendent Dennis Grulkowski explained that despite the excellent ratings received from the State, age is taking a toll on the facilities.

A motion was made by Council Member Burkart, seconded by Council Member Bublitz, to approve Resolution No. 2022-16 approving the 2021 CMAR report for the Water Recycling Center. Motion carried without a negative vote.

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCIL MEMBERS SHERRY BUBLITZ AND ROBERT SIMPSON TO THE PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

A motion was made by Council Member Bublitz to appoint Robert Simpson and herself to the Personnel Committee, seconded by Council Member Simpson. Motion carried without a negative vote.

CONSENT AGENDA:

- CONSIDER APPROVAL OF 2022-2023 ALCOHOL AND OPERATOR LICENSES (PER LIST BELOW)
- DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON PAYMENT OF BILLS DATED 5/4/2022 THROUGH 5/13/2022, TRANSFERS FOR THE PERIOD 5/7/2022 THROUGH 5/20/2022 AND PAYROLL FOR PERIOD 5/1/2022 THROUGH 5/14/2022
- APPROVAL OF MAY 9, 2022 COMMON COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

A motion was made by Council Member Thome, seconded by Council Member Bublitz, to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried without a negative vote.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF 2022-2023 ALCOHOL AND OPERATOR LICENSES FOR:

<u>Class "A" fermented malt beverage and "Class A" cider only (off-premise consumption only):</u>

Speedway LLC, 3200 Hackberry Rd., Irving, TX 75063, Laura M. Streubing, Agent, premises to be licensed: W63N121 Washington Avenue, known as **Speedway 4203**.

<u>Class "B" fermented malt beverage and "Class B" intoxicating liquor (on or off-premise consumption):</u>

Lime Cantina Inc., W62N550 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012, Bradley J. Devorkin, Agent, premises to be licensed: W62N550 Washington Avenue, known as **Lime Cantina**.

Art of Joy, LLC, W63N644 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI, Stephanie Hayes, Agent, premises to be licensed: W63N644 Washington Avenue, known as **Art of Joy**.

New Operator License applications for the period ending June 30, 2023:

Donna H. Bornitz	Emma J. Jacque	Kelly B. Northridge
Abigail J. Didier	Bradley J. Larson	Rebecca J. Rice
Jeffrey D. Fischer Catherine Frohman	Dianna P. Lightner Cheyenne E. Lutz	Emily R. Schemenauer
Catherine Frontillan	Cheyenne E. Luiz	Jeffrey A. Wandschneider

Renewal Operator License applications for period ending June 30, 2023

Carol A. Ameen Deborah Bath Justin A. Bauer Joey M. Baumle Tamara J. Behling Michael C. Besaw Adam J. Bougie Jody L. Brzezinski Daniel M. Burback Karen T. Cannon Callen L. Cummings Brady S. Curtis Christina N. Gabrielson Jeanette L. Gabrys Kathleen Griffin Angela L. Habermann Christine M. Habich	Elizabeth N. Hoffman Peter J. Jackson Tracey M. Jackson Jaime L. Jacobson Dennis F. Jaeger Marylee Katzka Randall H. Kison Stacy J. Kowalkowski Adam M. Kressmer Audrey L. Krick Brian A. Kurlinski Edmund A. Kwaterski James D. Lake Kathleen A. Lanser Mark E. Larson Cynthia M. Larson Linda K. Martens	Jamie N. Nevins Nick M. Nevins Debra M. Newell Marybeth S. Nicolosi Benjamin C. Nummerdor Annmarie J. Oswald Hadley W. Pape Christine L. Pope James C. Rahming Erin A. Riley Chad W. Schmidt Erin E. Schmidt Eric L. Siudak Michelle L. Taraboi David E. Taylor Ethan E. Taylor Kerry K. Tharp
Kathleen Griffin Angela L. Habermann	Mark E. Larson	David E. Taylor
Christine M. Habich H. Michael Hagerman Anthony Havel Jake G. Hebda Jill Hepburn	Linda K. Martens Rosanne M. Mitchell Gregory P. Myers Sharon L. Nelson	Kerry K. Tharp Robert Vanderloop Stephen R Wilson James W. Zipter

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

Administrator Hilvo explained the City is in the process of hiring a new Building Inspector. Roger Kison, who currently conducts inspections, will continue to do residential and commercial inspections upon Building Inspector Baier's retirement.

CITY CLERK'S REPORT ON LIQUOR LICENSES

City Clerk Sette provided a brief overview of the steps involved in non-renewing and revoking a liquor license. There are specific violations that allow the Council to act on a non-renewal or revocation. She also explained the City currently has three (3) Reserve liquor licenses.

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM CITIZENS – None

COMMENTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS BY COUNCIL MEMBERS

Council Member Bublitz was appalled at an article in the News Graphic about a man walking down Washington Avenue where someone yelled a profane comment the man believed was directed towards himself.

Council Member Arnett explained new flood zone maps are available. He encouraged everyone, including business owners, to review the new maps. He also informed the Council about the works of Paul Yank, late Cedarburg artist, which will be on display at the Cultural Center on Thursday, May 26, 2022, from 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. He also mentioned the Art Museum beer garden will be opening June 9, 2022.

MAYOR'S REPORT - None

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Council Member Arnett, seconded by Council Member Burkart, to adjourn the meeting at 7:26 p.m. Motion carried without a negative vote.

Tracie Sette City Clerk